Lying in Wait

From the international bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver, an unputdownable psychological thriller with an ending that lingers long after turning the final page (The Irish Times) about a Dublin family whose dark secrets and twisted relationships are suddenly revealed.My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons has the perfect lifewife of a respected, successful judge, mother to a beloved son, mistress of a beautiful house in Dublin. That beautiful house, however, holds a secret. And when Lydias son, Laurence, discovers its secret, wheels are set in motion that lead to an increasingly claustrophobic and devastatingly dark climax.For fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn, this novel is a seductively sinister story. The twists come together in a superbly scary denouncement, which delivers a final sting in the tail. Brilliantly macabre (Sunday Mirror)...


Lying in Wait Reviews

Lying in Wait
Rachel Hall

Lying in Wait is an insidiously dark psychological thriller and given the far-fetched nature of events, it really shouldn't be as haunting and poignant as it is, but as Liz Nugent charts the inextricable ties that set two very different families on a collision course she deploys three very different narrators who combine to best effect in a truly dark storm.

When Lying in Wait opens it isn't hard to imagine just how the respectable Fitzsimmons family come to find themselves rubbing shoulders wit
...more

Lying in Wait
Mackenzie - Traveling Sister

Loved this book!

If there were ever a book to capture dark, comedic noir, this would be the one for 2018. This book is incredibly twisted, and yet there was levity and humor despite the darkness of the book. I felt “WTF?!” in the best way when reading this! Liz Nugent really has a talent for writing. I loved how this book was told like the characters repeating a story from some point in time after the events had happened, rather than experiencing it live. That may not sound appealing, but I belie
...more

Lying in Wait
Maxine (Booklover Catlady)

I was super eager to read this after loving Unravelling Oliver so much. How did it compare in my opinion? This new book from Liz Nugent is good, I really enjoyed it but I did not feel it quite had the wow factor that Unravelling Oliver did, nevertheless it's a really good read!

A well-respected citizen and his wife get themselves way over their heads in a tangled mess of murder. The killing of a troubled young woman who has sunk down in life with a battle with heroin addiction and selling her b
...more

Lying in Wait
Bam

Wow, what a crazy story! The murder is announced in the first sentence: "My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it." The speaker is Lydia Fitzsimons, the wife of Andrew, a respected judge in Dublin. She is not exactly a reliable narrator; in fact, she is most likely a psychopath.

But thankfully, there are two other first-person narrators who help flesh out this tale with some sanity: Laurence, Lydia and Andrew's sixteen-year-old son; and Karen, Annie Doyle's sis
...more

Lying in Wait
Elyse

Christmas Day is Lydia’s only son, Lawrence’s birthday, and the day her husband, Andrew died.....displacing a turkey carcass from its serving platter, falling face down across the table, his hair in turkey grease.

...Andrew drove a vintage jaguar sedan... wore a trilby hat.

He killed a girl named Annie.

...Lydia says it was an accident - but she deserved it......

...Lydia isn’t an innocent bystander,

...Lawrence isn’t an innocent bystander...

The one person you trust may be telling you only half th
...more

Lying in Wait
Noeleen

Many thanks to Penguin Books (UK) via NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review this book

Liz Nugent’s debut Unravelling Oliver was one of my personal favourite books to read last year. It was also a huge hit with my book club. Eagerly awaiting a second book, I didn’t think that the next offering would quite live up to the fantastic debut, they rarely do, but I was so wrong, Lying in Wait most certainly did and then some.

As with Unravelling Oliver, Lying in Wait is a very impressive, skill
...more

Lying in Wait
Erin Clemence

Thanks to Goodreads giveaways for the chance to read and review this novel!

Liz Nugent is back after her hugely successful novel, “Unraveling Oliver”, with an amazingly un-putdownable tour-de-force, “Lying in Wait”.

Lydia Fitzsimmons is living the good life; she has a successful husband a well-behaved son, and a beautiful estate. But Lydia has secrets. Deep, scary secrets that, if revealed, would ruin the relationship she has with her son and husband and risk her losing everything she has. For e
...more

Lying in Wait
Liz Barnsley

Having been a huge fan of Unravelling Oliver I really wanted to see what Liz Nugent would come up with next and that would be this - Lying in Wait. If you thought Oliver was a nightmare wait until you meet Lydia...

What I loved about this, and indeed about Unravelling Oliver, is the very different way the author approaches crime. Here there is no "whodunnit" but more a psychological character study of a group of people involved whether intentionally or otherwise, in murder. With Unravelling Olive
...more