The Wildflowers

The Wildflowers by Harriet Evans is the spellbinding new novel from the Top 5 Sunday Times bestselling author of A Place for Us and The Butterfly Summer. Fans of Kate Morton's The Lake House or Santa Montefiore will delight in this book. Harriet Evans is 'perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Maeve Binchy' BestTony and Althea Wilde. Glamorous, argumentative ... adulterous to the core.They were my parents, actors known by everyone. They gave our lives love and colour in a house by the sea - the house that sheltered my orphaned father when he was a boy.But the summer Mads arrived changed everything. She too had been abandoned and my father understood why. We Wildflowers took her in.My father was my hero, he gave us a golden childhood, but the past was always going to catch up with him ... it comes for us all, sooner or later.This is my story. I am Cordelia Wilde. A singer without a voice. A daughter without a father. Let me take you inside...


The Wildflowers Reviews

The Wildflowers
Laura

Book reviews on www.snazzybooks.com

The Wildflowers is a sweet, absorbing story about growing up, family secrets and the effect that glimping something you ‘shouldn’t have’ – even for a moment – can have such a profound effect throughout your life…

If that sounds a bit vague, good – I don’t want to give too much away about this story as I think it’s best to approach it without any preconceptions, as I did. It’s certainly a long read (at times I felt perhaps it could have been trimmed down, but on
...more

The Wildflowers
Natalie

To be completely honest, I thought about giving up on this book more than once. But it would be the first book I'd ever given up on. The first 50 - 60% was so slow and some of it seemed so pointless. Yes, I love a good backstory. But a lot of it just seemed to fall flat to me. Also, some of the language was honestly so ridiculous. I understand parts were set in the past but I feel these sections were too old fashioned even for the 40s and 50s. The twists and surprises were good. Although the who ...more

The Wildflowers
Kate

I’m usually a huge fan of Harriet Evans books but I really struggled with this one. The whizzing around between different times was quite hard to follow and to be honest the storyline was a little grim. Definitely not my favourite.

The Wildflowers
Julie

A difficult book to review as I found it enchanting yet disappointing at the same time. I loved the setting; 'idyllic' childhood at a Cornish beach house with some larger than life theatrical characters. On the other hand, this family saga was told initially from the daughter, Cordelia's, point of view. However, later on it switched to the adult's point of view and became somewhat confusing and to be honest overlong. If this had been offset by a happy ending then perhaps it would have left me wi ...more

The Wildflowers
Rhona

Great family saga - highly recommend!!!

The Wildflowers
Karen Mace

If you are looking for an epic family drama, full of scandal, regrets and dark secrets then you need this book in your life! The author has created an astonishing family who seem to live an extremely privileged life but when you look behind the facade, it is often no more than a nightmare.

The Wilde family are an acting dynasty. Tony and Althea are, on paper, a golden couple, with successful careers but, behind closed doors, they are two quite selfish individuals who seem to accept infidelity on
...more

The Wildflowers
Karen

I really enjoyed this family saga

The Wildflowers
Laura

I've been reading Harriet Evans's novels since her 2005 debut, Going Home, and I'm a particular fan of the turn she's taken in her last two books, A Place for Us and The Butterfly Summer, moving away from 'chick lit' towards modern family sagas. I always enjoy a good chick lit, but there's something in Evans's writing, and in her interest in home, place and family dynamics, that seems to work especially well telling these kinds of stories, and I've found them all really absorbing. The Wildflower ...more